face oils:

face oils (1)

Putting oils onto your face, on purpose, can seem like a strange concept at first.

It definitely was for me.

My nose almost drips off of my face most days… Really though… It’s an issue.

Through trial and error, I have found what oils work best for me and the best time to use them.

I have naturally oily skin, so oils are definitely not a part of my morning routine, unless I plan on not wearing makeup that day.

Since adding oils to my nighttime routine, I have seen a DRASTIC change in the overall quality of my skin.

Let me break this thing down…

CLEANSING OILS

wpid-screenshot_2015-11-22-00-38-09-1.png

Julep’s Bare Face Cleansing Oil:

“A lightweight, antioxidant-rich cleanser for all skin types.
Gently and thoroughly dissolves makeup, dirt, and excess oil without over-drying.”

This cleansing oil is my all time favorite!

I just feel so glowy and healthy after I use it. It is truly an amazing product that you definitely should buy.

I use 1 pump to take off my makeup off before I wash my face, 2 pumps if I wore a lot of makeup that day. It smells absolutely amazing, it honestly does not irritate my skin… I can even get it all up in my eye balls to remove my mascara and I’m way good.

The pump allows the product to last a really long time, I didn’t start running low until month 5!

“Leaves skin soft and hydrated with no oily residue.
Treats your complexion to a nourishing formula that includes grapeseed oil, olive oil, and Power Cell Complex™, a Julep-exclusive blend of age-defying, skin-boosting, ultra-hydrating ingredients:
Rosehip seed oil delivers essential nutrients to soothe and repair.
Malvaceae Lipid Extract™ improves barrier function so skin retains moisture.
Green coffee bean oil invigorates skin & promotes cell turnover.”

Find it on the Julep Maven website.

Ingredients: Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-30 Sorbitan Tetraoleate, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Fruit Oil, Citris Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hibiscus Abelmoschus Extract, Squalane, Phenoxyethanol

wpid-screenshot_2015-11-22-00-49-41-1.png

Philosophy’s Purity Made Simple Mineral Oil-Free Cleansing Oil:

“purity made simple mineral oil-free facial cleansing oil is designed to comfortably cleanse, nurture skin and provide superior makeup removal.”

philosophy is my top skin care savior. I always find myself going back to their products… they just get me, ya know?

However, this product could use a bit of tweaking! The fact that there is no pump or dropper makes no sense to me at all. This stuff makes a huge mess, so it’s not lasting very long. It doesn’t smell very good and it is a bit drying, which says a lot because I have oily skin. But it does get the job done… and philosophy is still one of my favorite brands.

*philosophy skin care routine coming soon!

“A deep-cleansing blend of natural oils melt away all traces of makeup, dirt, oil and impurities, while maintaining skin’s natural moisture levels. the formula feels luxurious, emulsifies easily and rinses completely, leaving skin perfectly clean and soft.”

Find it at Department Stores like Nordstrom, Sephora, and on the philosophy website.

Ingredients: isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl myristate, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, hydrogenated polyisobutene, caprylic/capric triglyceride, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, polyglyceryl-10 myristate, water/aqua/eau, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, glycerin, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, ppg-2 hydroxyethyl cocamide, aniba rosaeodora (rosewood) wood oil, geranium maculatum oil, guaiacum officinale wood extract, cymbopogon martini oil, rosa damascena extract, amyris balsamifera bark oil, santalum album (sandalwood) oil, salvia officinalis (sage) oil, cinnamomum cassia leaf oil, anthemis nobilis flower oil, daucus carota sativa (carrot) seed oil, piper nigrum (pepper) seed extract, geraniol, linalool, caprylyl glycol, phenoxyethanol. 

OILS

wpid-screenshot_2015-11-22-00-41-55-1-1.png

Mitchell & Peach’s Fine Radiance Face Oil Flora No.1:

“A highly effective face oil packed with powerful natural anti-oxidants and vitamins that are instantly absorbed to leave skin feeling plumper, firmer and glowing with radiance.”

I originally heard of Mitchell & Peach through Ipsy and received this sample in my Glam Bag. The smell and feel of this oil is something I can’t explain. It’s like I’m frolicking through a garden of tea leaves on a warm spring day. The feel of it just seems expensive, in the best way.

I don’t use this very often because I am trying to make my tiny ass sample last for the rest of my life.

“The unique formulation, which has a luxuriously powdery feel, contains cobnut oil from the Mitchell farming estate. The oil is mildly astringent (producing a tightening effect) and brimming with Vitamin E, known for its anti-oxidant properties, as well as Vitamin B, which evens skin tone.

Other ingredients include vitamin-rich apricot kernel oil, coconut oil and wheat germ oil to protect against oxidative stress.

The Fine Radiance Face Oil is delicately fragranced with Mitchell and Peach’s Flora No.1 fragrance, a blend of uplifting floral essences including rose, lavender and ylang-ylang.

The range is free from parabens, mineral oil, sodium lauryl sulphate and synthetic colouring.”

Find it on Ipsy and the Mitchell & Peach website.

wpid-screenshot_2015-11-22-00-46-57-1.png

Oil Essential’s Revitalize:

“OMEGA 3, 6, 9 & EVENING PRIMROSE:
A revitalizing, light combination of evening primrose, sunflower seed and meadowfoam seed oils, boosted with inca-inchi oil – rich in omega 3,6 and 9.”

I stumbled upon this at the drug store one day and got super excited!

This oil is my go to for… everything really. The evening primrose smells so good that I just want to rub it all over my body while rolling around in a bed of flowers, so, that’s what I do! (Minus the bed of flowers unfortunately.)

I use this at night before bed on my face and rub the left over on my arms and the ends of my hair. The dropper makes it extremely easy to use and remember, a little goes a long way! I have had the same bottle for about 6 months now and I am just now running low! This is a great investment and I can’t wait to try all their different formulas!

“Containing high content of essential and polyunsaturated fatty acids.
Omega 3,6, and 9 help maintain the skin’s elasticity and natural hydration levels.
Evening primrose oil has been used for reducing skin blemishes and redness, and it promotes even skin coloration.
Helps to heal, strengthen and moisturize hair and scalp, while protecting hair against breakage.
Delivers essential nutrients to nails, hands and feet., it is recommended for dry, sensitive, and ageing skin.”

Find it at stores like Rite Aid and on the Oil Essentials website.

Ingredients: ‌Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Diheptyl Succinate, Capryloyl Glycerin/Sebacic Acid Copolymer, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Plukenetia Volubilis Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Fragrance, Tocopheryl  Acetate (Vitamin E).

wpid-screenshot_2015-11-22-00-41-42-1.png

Fresh’s Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil:

“Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil is a precious blend of pure oils—seaberry, cranberry seed, camellia seed, grapeseed, and sweet almond—packed with nourishing omegas to preserve a youthful appearance. The lightweight formula absorbs quickly for a boost of vital moisture.”

I bought this in a holiday gift set last year and fell in love! There are so many things packed into this oil… I don’t even know how to explain it. I will say that if you have oily skin, this is best to be used when you are having dry, cracked, winter-irritated skin. It smells amazing… obviously.

This is another sample size that I am trying to stretch until I’m at least 45.

“Proven to provide 24-hour hydration
100% felt their skin was immediately nourished
100% reported their skin was supple
97% said their skin was immediately hydrated
85% felt it decreased roughness on contact

Seaberry oil, also known as seabuckthorn oil, is a powerful antioxidant rich in moisturizing omegas 3, 6, 7 & 9 noted for protecting the skin from aging free radicals.**
Cranberry seed oil, packed with omegas 3, 6 & 9 and vitamin E, is known to maintain the skin’s elasticity and smoothness.
Camellia seed oil, rich in omegas 6 & 9, helps to retain moisture and promote smooth, supple skin.
Grapeseed oil helps maintain optimal hydration levels.
Sweet almond oil helps to soften the skin.”

Find it at Department Stores like Nordstrom, Sephora, and on the Fresh website.

Ingredients: Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Fragrance, Bht, Linalool, Limonene, Citral, Coumarin, Geraniol

OILY TIPS:

  • Oil Treatments: Use and skip moisturizer if you have oily skin, use before moisturizer as a treatment for dry skin.
  • Oil Essentials: Put in hair overnight, wash out in the morning for hydration.
  • Cleansing Oils: These are the BEST makeup brush and beauty blender cleaners!
  • Cleansing Oils: For mascara, do not rub the crap out of the eyes, close eyes and hold fingers loosely over your eyelashes while gently wiping, rise immediately.
  • Mitchell & Peach: Can be used as perfume.
  • Seaberry: Use on dry heels, elbows, knees, and chapped lips.
  • All Oils: A little goes a LONG WAY! Don’t waste it!

goldieeee.

Leave a Reply

