Sulfate Free:

20131204-192450.jpg

20131204-192458.jpg

20131204-192507.jpg

I have officially thrown out all of my cosmetics and replaced them with better quality products.

Specifically ones that are sulfate free.

In trying to cure my Perioral Dermatitis I think I have finally figured out one of my main triggers.

SULFATES!

It’s only been a few days since I started using only sulfate free products and my rash is already starting to heal itself with little to no effort from me!

These are my recent purchases and they are just perfect!

The African Black Soap body wash is a miracle in a bottle.

I was kinda weirded out at first because the soap is actually black and has very small black pieces of something in it for light exfoliation I suppose.

But as soon as I started using it I knew this was my new favorite product!

Even though it’s titled body wash, I also wash my face with it while in the shower.

The bottle reads:
African black soap, a time honored beauty secret, made from Palm ash, tamarind extract, tar and plaintain peel, helps to calm and clear blemishes and troubled skin. Oats helps soothe while absorbing excess oil.

It’s certified organic and cruelty free.

This soap is free of: parabens, phthalates, paraffin, dioxin, propylene glycol, mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, PABA, synthetic color, DEA, sulfates, and animal ingredients.

I don’t even know what all of those things mean but I’m glad I’m not rubbing them into my skin everyday!

The Burt’s Bees Pomegranate shampoo and conditioner are also free of sulfates, parabens, phthalates, petrochemicals, and synthetic fragrances.

They also are against animal testing which is always a plus!

The smell is lovely and stays in long after your hair has dried.

Last but not least, I decided to purchase Physicians Formula make up, mainly because I don’t have the money for Bare Minerals at the moment.

The Organic Wear tinted moisturizer is 100% natural!

It goes on smoothly at first but seems to stiffen quickly, so make sure you rub it in fast…(that’s what she said).

The starter kit I got is pretty awesome, it’s designed for people with skin problems and is talc free!

I was worried about the coverage but was pleasantly surprised!

20131204-222539.jpg

However, I think I will add some concealer next time.

Long story short, we really need to start paying attention to not only what we put into out bodies but also what we put on our bodies.

2 comments

  1. Katy

    Hi, I am also struggling with POD right now and not having much luck, has your rash cleared up? I am looking for some hope! Please reply!

    • goldieeee

      OMG yes! Please try going sulfate and fluoride free!! All of the products I recently blogged about helped!! Let me know how it works!

      Here is my list: (only use this for a few weeks)
      Face- Burts Bees Sensitive cotton wash and face lotion
      Body- African black soap gel
      Hair- Burts Bees sham/con
      Toothpaste- Jason

      Also throw out any cosmetics with sulfates, you’ll be surprised, lotions, hand soap, etc.

Leave a Reply

