“This ain’t The Help, Bitch. But you will eat my shit.”

r-ORANGE-IS-THE-NEW-BLACK-large570

If you haven’t heard of Orange is the New Black yet you are obviously living under a rock.

Or living in an overseas country that doesn’t allow Netlfix & you aren’t aware of how to get an American IP address.

This show is one of the best shows I’ve watched this year.

It is a new Netflix original, which is awesome because they release all the episodes at once.

Which is great for people like me who like to overdose on TV shows.

Orange is the New Black is brought to us by the creator of Weeds, Jenji Kohan.

It is also based on a true fucking story.

The cast is absolutely BRILLIANT!

Their performances are completely flawless.

The show Is about a uppity, young,  engaged, white female who finds herself having to spend a year in prison.

From lesbians to transgenders, pregnancies to drugs, murder to religious vigilantes, race issues to abuse of power… this show has it all.

I also love the way they are slowly telling every woman’s back story with flash backs.

To me, one of the saddest and real parts of this season involves one of my favorite characters, Tastee with her friend Poussey (not pronounced how your thinking sicko) about getting thrown back in prison soon after her release:

Tastee:

What they don’t tell you when you get out, they gonna be you your ass like the KGB, curfew every night, pissin in a cup when ever they say. You gotta do three job interviews a week for jobs you never gon’ get. Probation officer calling every minute checking up. Man at least in jail you get dinner.

Poussey:

Man where you think you at Paris Hilton?! Yo, there’s bitches in here doin 15 years for lettin they boyfriends deal in the kitchen cause they was afraid of gettin beat is they sadi no. And these bitches anit seen they kids since they was babies and them kids got babies of they own now, or they runnin around the streets carrying guns and shit, no one watchin over them. Yo, I’ve been in here two years and I got four more. Eight months ago when I was waxin fucking floors in the cafeteria my moms passed and I wasn’t there to say shit you supposed to say to your mom before shes gone. So I know you anit tellin me in my face that you walked back in this place cause freedom was inconvenient for you! 

Tastee:

It aint like that P. Minimum wage is some kind of joke. I got part time at Pizza Hut and still owe the prison $900 in fees I gotta pay back. I aint got no place to stay. I was sleeping on the floor of my second cousins apartment like a dog and she still got six people in two rooms. One of the bitches stole my check, I got lice, everyone I know is poor, in jail, or gone. Don’t nobody ask how my day went. Man I got fucked up in the head you know? I know how to play it here, where to be and what rules to follow. I got a bed and I got you. 

You better read that because I had to go back and listen to that scence to write it down, does nobody put TV quotes online anymore?!

Shit. 

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Drama about Females Doing Time | bizwriting306

Leave a Reply

